2017 Student Award Winners

Each year, CYSO presents awards to students who have distinguished themselves throughout the season and during their time at CYSO. Chosen by our artistic and administrative staff, below are 2017’s award-winning students.
Mollendorf Award
Mollendorf Award is given to a graduating CYSO senior to support further musical study. It is given through an endowment fund by the late Jean Mollendorf, Founder and Past President of the CYSO Board of Directors.
Katia Waxman
Katia Waxman is a senior at Walter Payton College Prep in Chicago. She joined CYSO in 2011 and is currently principal clarinet of the Symphony Orchestra. She has also been an active member of the organization’s chamber program; her quintet Zephyrus Winds has garnered recognition at several local and national competitions. She was honored to win CYSO’s Concert Orchestra Concerto Competition in 2015, and soloed with the orchestra the following season. She currently studies with Teresa Reilly and John Bruce Yeh and plans to pursue a degree in music performance.

Albert Pick III Award
Albert Pick III Award is given to a well-rounded individual and should be used to keep music a creative and joyful part of the recipient’s life. This award is inspired by the memory of Albert Pick III for his love of the students of CYSO and passionate commitment of service to his community.
Danielle Calloway
Danielle Calloway has been playing the violin for 13 years and is a student of Jennifer Cappelli. She has been with the CYSO family for 9 years. Danielle is a senior at Whitney Young High School, where she is the principal violist in the Chamber Orchestra and in the Principals’ Quartet under Michael Mascari. She will be attending the University of Chicago in the fall.


The $1,000 Luminarts Performance Award is given to up to three CYSO juniors and/or seniors to support further musical study in pursuit of a professional career in music performance. These awards are made possible by Luminarts Cultural Foundation at the Union League Club of Chicago, which cultivates Chicago’s vibrant arts community by supporting exemplary young artists through its competative programs that offer financial awards, artistic opportunities, and mentoring that bridge the gap between education and career. The criteria for award consideration include musical excellence and leadership, active participation and loyalty to CYSO, and plans to pursue a professional career in music performance.
Kayla Cabrera
Kayla Cabrera, 18, began her music studies at age 13. She is currently a student of Roland and Almita Vamos, and formerly of Matt Mantell. As a freshman, Kayla joined CYSO, where she has served as principal violist since 2014. Now a homeschooled senior, Kayla will pursue a degree in music performance at The Juilliard School this fall.
Amer Hasan
Clarinetist Amer Hasan, 18, has been a member of Symphony Orchestra since age 15. He has been recognized by the National YoungArts Foundation and received top awards in the Fischoff and M-Prize chamber music competitions. This summer, Amer will tour Latin America with Carnegie Hall’s 2017 National Youth Orchestra of the United States of America.
Frederick McClure, Jr.
Frederick McClure Jr. has been a percussionist with CYSO for four years. He has participated in Concert Orchestra, Symphony Orchestra, CYSO Kaiso Steel Pan Ensemble, and the CYSO Percussion Ensemble. Frederick has spent 7 years studying percussion, and will continue his studies in percussion at Northern Illinois University.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This