Symphony Orchestra Presents Works by Saint-Saëns, Koussevitzky, Thomas and Tian on Nov 17 at Orchestra Hall

Symphony Orchestra will present their fall 2019 concert at Orchestra Hall on Sunday, November 17 at 6:30 pm under the baton of Music Director Allen Tinkham. Tickets are on sale now.
The concert will feature the Chicago premiere of Grammy-nominated composer Zhou Tian’s Transcend, written in honor of the 150th anniversary of the completion of the Transcontinental Railroad. The piece was commissioned by the Reno Philharmonic in partnership with CYSO and 11 other professional orchestras. Read more about the piece here.
The program also features Serge Koussevitzky’s Concerto for Double Bass performed by 15 year old Nicholas Boettcher, winner of the 2019 Symphony Orchestra Concerto Competition. The orchestra will also perform Saint-Saëns’ “Organ Symphony” with David Schrader performing at the organ and Augusta Read Thomas’ Of Paradise and Light.
In addition, CYSO will also present our 2019 Alumni Award to cellist and educator William Cernota, ’65. Cernota has been a member of Chicago Lyric Opera Orchestra since 1982.
The complete program for the November 17 concert will be as follows:
Zhou Tian (b. 1981) | Transcend
Chicago Premiere

Serge Koussevitzky (1874 – 1951) | Concerto for Double Bass
Nicholas Boettcher, bass
Augusta Read Thomas (b. 1964) | Of Paradise and Light
Camille Saint-Saëns (1835 – 1921) | Symphony No. 3 in C minor, op. 78 “Organ Symphony
David Schrader, organ
Get your tickets now!

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This