The CYSO family is a large network of expert educators, dedicated administrators, and devoted board members. Together we support our young musicians and help model the excellence that is central to the CYSO experience.

Artistic Staff & Faculty

Allen Tinkham

Music Director

Daniella Valdez

Director of String Ensembles

Dr. Donald DeRoche

Director of Chamber Music

Scott McConnell

Director of Steel Orchestras/CYSO Recording Coordinator

Pharez Whitted

Director of Jazz Orchestra

Michael Mascari

Concert Orchestra Conductor

Dana Green

Debut Orchestra Conductor

Anne Huynh McTighe

Assistant Director of String Ensembles

Benjamin Firer

Assistant Director Philharmonic Orchestra

Jaron Woodsley

Steel Orchestras Assistant

Abby Black

Debut Orchestra Winds & Brass Coach

Steven Gooden

Artistic Faculty

Simón Gómez Gallego

Percussion Ensemble Coach

Richard Brasseale

Moos Elementary Saxophone Coach

Phyllis Calderon

Graham Elementary Strings Coach

Nayelii Duran

Holmes Elementary Strings Coach

Eric Hines

Holmes Elementary Percussion Coach

Eric Leise

Moos Elementary Flute Coach

Noe Mina

Moos Elementary Brass Coach

Hugo Saavedra

Moos Elementary Low Brass Coach

In memoriam: Terrance Malone Gray

In June 2022, CYSO’s beloved Associate Conductor Terrance Malone Gray passed away. Our longest serving staff member, Maestro Gray led CYSO ensembles with his trademark enthusiasm for nearly 30 years, impacting the lives of thousands of young musicians. Read our tribute to Maestro Gray.

To get in touch with a member of the artistic staff, contact Madalyne Tregellas Maxwell, Director of Operations, at

Administrative Staff

Jennie Oh Brown

Executive Director
(312) 939-2207 x220

Madalyne Tregellas Maxwell

Interim Executive Director
(312) 939-2207 x230

Martha Nolin

Director of Finance
(312) 939-2207 x300

Abbey Hambright

Director of Marketing
(312) 939-2207 x310

Andrea Kennard

Operations Manager
(312) 939-2207 x240

Karen Mari

Community Engagement Manager
(312) 939-2207 x250

Tamisha Gamble

Development Manager
(312) 939-2207 x290

Marc Bitler

Events & Fundraising Coordinator
(312) 939-2207 x200

Allison Webb

Development Coordinator, Individual Giving
(312) 939-2207

Nico Chona

Operations Assistant
(CO, DO, AS, PS, OS)
(312) 939-2207 x260

Reanna Panlilio

Operations Assistant
(JO, SO, PO, Chamber)
(312) 939-2207 x280

Brent Taghap

Marketing Assistant
(312) 939-2207

Meredith Shaner

Grant Writer
(312) 939-2207


Chamber Music Faculty Donald DeRoche
Simón Gómez Gallego
Kristina Lee
Istvan Loga
Scott Tegge
Paul Zafer
Composition InstructorEric Malmquist
Ensembles in Residence Gaudete Brass

Board of Directors

Officers / Executive CommitteeRoss Bricker | Board Chair
Partner, Jenner & Block

Brittany L. Viola | Vice Chair

Saurab Bhargava | Artistic & Education Committee Chair
Chief Digital Officer, Merge

Henry E. Turner, Jr. | Governance Committee Chair
Senior Counsel, Litigation, Conagra Brands, Inc.
Kelly Howe | Development Committee Chair
North America Chief Financial Officer, Boston Consulting Group

Pamela H. Conroy | Finance Committee Chair
Retired, Institutional Capital Corporation

Angela O’Banion | Secretary
CIO, Cook County Health
DirectorsRichard Blessen
Partner, FisherBroyles

Josh Butler
Partner, Aon

Valerie Calloway
Retired, Analytical Lab Manager, INEOS (formerly Amoco/BP Chemicals)

Stacie Dennis
Chief Financial Officer, LanzaJet

Brandon Dixon
Senior Associate, Seyfarth Shaw LLP

Tyler Forbes
Vice President, J.P. Morgan

James M. Franklin
Chairman, Marketing & Technology Group, Inc.

Lionel Go

Kuang-Hao Huang
Artist Faculty, Chicago College of Performing Arts at Roosevelt University

Shiv Iyer
Market Unit Lead – US Midwest, Accenture
Sophie McCarthy
Managing Director, Kivvit

Yasuko Metcalf
Partner, KPMG LLP

Bryan Miller
Music Department Chair, Leyden High Schools; Commander and Conductor 566th Air Force Band

Jennifer Myerberg
Vice President & Treasurer, The Alvin & Louise Myerberg Family Foundation, Inc.

Delano O’Banion
Retired, Music Teacher at Chicago Public Schools

Shawn O’Leary
Managing Director & Portfolio Manager, Nuveen

John Sandwick
Vice President Client Development, Team Lead, Advantage Marketing Partners

Stephen L. Schwartz
Chairman, First Hospitality Group Inc.

Parent Partners Representative
Pamella Der

President, CYSO Parent Partners
Board of TrusteesJ. Laurence Costin
Vice Chairman, CCC Information Services, Inc.

Fred Margulies
Vice President, Continental Envelope Company
John Schladweiler


Job ListingsDirector of Finance and Human Resources
InternshipsCYSO offers summer internship opportunities for CYSO students interested in gaining valuable experience in arts administration. Applications for these internships are available to students in the spring. Other general internships may be available throughout the year for those who are not CYSO students, but are interested in volunteering with CYSO.

If you are interested in learning more about CYSO internship opportunities, please contact Madalyne Tregellas Maxwell, Director of Operations, at

Pin It on Pinterest